Six Cat’s a Slayin’ is the tenth book and my first introduction to the Cat in the Stacks series by Miranda James.

Christmas is right around the corner and Charlie is doing his best to show peace and goodwill toward his new neighbor Gerry Arbitron. But when Gerry winds up dead at her own holiday party? Dun! Dun! Cue the mystery element of this story. With a new mystery to solve, the last thing Charlie expects to find on his doorstep is a box with five kittens inside and a note begging him to keep them safe. Aww! Cue the cuteness factor of this story.

As I mentioned, this was my first introduction to Charlie and his cat Diesel. Apparently, they have quite the reputation for solving crimes. Since I haven’t read the previous nine books, I found the mystery element and Charlie’s involvement a little hard to take in. Perhaps if I had known these characters a little better, it would have made the story a little more believable?

To me, most of the focus of this book seemed to be the five kittens and where they came from. That was okay with me because it was a great side story. And what’s not to love about kittens?! But I love a good mystery and would’ve liked a deeper look at what really happened to Gerry. Don’t get me wrong, I liked the mystery and I thought it was down well, but it ultimately felt rushed through.

I will eventually read the previous books in this series. I look forward to really getting to know Charlie, Diesel and the rest of the cast of characters a bit more. If you’re like me and haven’t read another book in this series yet, start at the beginning. I think you’ll enjoy this read a lot more if you do.

Advanced copy of this book provided by NetGalley for my honest review.


Rating: 3.5 stars

Reviewer: Jennifer

Title: Six Cats a Slayin’

Author: Miranda James

Release Date: October 23, 2018

Don’t miss any of the bookish fun. Subscribe now!